Mössbauer Research in Australia


As far as we are aware, the first Mössbauer spectroscopy research laboratories in Australia were established in the Physics Department at Monash University in Melbourne and the Physics Department of the University of Melbourne in 1963. While the University of Melbourne group closed after about eight years, the Monash group has operated continuously since these early days. Indeed, staff members and PhD graduates from the Monash group have in turn led to the establishment of several Mössbauer groups throughout the country.

Other than Monash University, the main Mössbauer research laboratories have been located at the University of New South Wales in Sydney and its offshoot campus, UNSW@ADFA at the Australian Defence Force Academy in Canberra. Among the other centres which have operated Mössbauer spectrometers for extended periods include: the University of Western Australia and Murdoch University in Perth and, in former years, the Australian National University, Canberra, and CSIRO, Lindfield, Sydney. Several other centres have also operated research spectrometers on a regular basis over the years, including: Capricornia IAE (now Central Queensland University) and Latrobe University, with industrial applications of Mössbauer spectroscopy being carried out at the BHP Research Laboratories. 

The activities of the current groups are reflected by the list of 31 scientists in Australia who have published 5 or more Mössbauer papers in the 10 years from 1997 to 2007 (this list of active Mössbauer researchers was provided by the MEDC). Much of the research work involving Mössbauer spectroscopy in Australia is carried out as collaborative projects with researchers at the main centres, although, as indicated above, some groups have their own spectrometer for occasional research projects.  

Number of Publications
Prof. John M. Cadogan The University of New South Wales
Prof. Stewart J. Campbell UNSW@ADFA
A/Prof. John D. Cashion Monash University
A/Prof. Glen A. Stewart UNSW@ADFA
Dr. Harold A. Goodwin The University of New South Wales
Dr. Timothy G. St. Pierre The University of Western Australia
Dr. Boujemaa Moubaraki Monash University
Prof. Keith S. Murray Monash University
Prof. John Webb Murdoch University
Dr. Kiyonori Suzuki Monash University
Dr. W. A. Kaczmarek The Australian National University / UNSW@ADFA
Dr. Stephen J. Harker The University of New South Wales
Dr. Wanida Chua-anusorn The University of Western Australia
Dr. A. M. Mulders Monash University
Dr. L. Joan Brown Monash University
Dr. Donald C. Craig The University of New South Wales
Dr. David J. Macey Murdoch University
Dr. Edward R. T. Tiekink The University of Adelaide
Dr. A. V. J. Edge UNSW@ADFA
Dr. Marcia L. Scudder The University of New South Wales
Dr. Leone Spiccia Monash University
Dr. Paul G. McCormick Advanced Nano Technologies Pty Ltd
Dr. Sarah A. Walton Murdoch University
Dr. Bradley J. Childs The University of New South Wales
Dr. S. J. Kennedy Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organization
Dr. Hong-Shuo Li The University of New South Wales
Dr. Brian W. Skelton The University of Western Australia
Dr. Allan H. White The University of Western Australia
Dr. W. D. Hutchison UNSW@ADFA
Prof. Hugh St. C. O'Neill The Australian National University
Prof. R. Street The University of Western Australia

This concentration of Mössbauer research effort over the years in the three centres is also reflected by the fact that Australia’s three members of the MEDC’s Mössbauer Century Club are based at these centres. They are Stewart Campbell (144 publications; UNSW@ADFA); Sean Cadogan (131 publications; UNSW); and John Cashion (122 publications; Monash) (data to August 2006 <http://www.medc.dicp.ac.cn>). 

This information has been prepared by Stewart Campbell and John Cashion. We realise the material is likely to be incomplete and look forward to learning of updated information with further details from colleagues in Australia.

IBAME Representative

Professor Stewart Campbell has been the Australian representative on IBAME since 1994, when he took over that role from Assoc. Professor John Cashion of Monash University. The most recent election took place in 2005. Stewart’s term of office runs to 2011, when a new representative will be elected. 

Professor Dr. Stewart J. Campbell
School of Physical, Environmental and Mathematical Sciences
The University of New South Wales
Australian Defence Force Academy
Canberra, ACT 2600 Australia
Tel:      + 61 2 6268 8767
Fax:     + 61 2 6268 8786
E-mail:  Stewart.Campbell@adfa.edu.au
WWW:  http://www.unsw.adfa.edu.au/pems/research/campbell/index.html
WWW:  http://www.unsw.adfa.edu.au/pems/

Mössbauer Laboratories

School of Physics
Monash University
WWW:     www.physics.monash.edu.au/research/mossbauer.html
Contact:   John Cashion <John.Cashion@sci.monash.edu.au>

School of Physical, Environmental and Mathematical Sciences
WWW:    http://www.unsw.adfa.edu.au/pems/
Contact:   Stewart Campbell <Stewart.Campbell@adfa.edu.au>
Contact:   Glen Stewart <G.Stewart@adfa.edu.au>


While there are no meetings dedicated to Mössbauer spectroscopy research in Australia, research using Mössbauer spectroscopy features strongly at most of the national conferences in the physical sciences, particularly the annual Condensed Matter and Materials Meeting.  This meeting has traditionally been held at the campus of the Charles Sturt University in Wagga Wagga and is occasionally held in New Zealand. The meeting is organised by universities and institutes under the auspices of the Australian and New Zealand Institutes of Physics and now involves the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. The next in the series will be held at Wagga Wagga from 29 January to 1 February 2008. 


Last Update: 7 June 2007

This site is supervised by Mössbauer Effect Data Center, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 457 Zhongshan Road, Dalian 116023, China. Contact email: medc@dicp.ac.cn